Partner of the KiSOC

Aighteen national and international partners help strengthening the Campus’ research profile:

Deutsches Museum von Meisterwerken der Naturwissenschaft und Technik, München
With an exhibition space of 66,000 m² the Deutsche Museum is one of the world’s largest scientific-technical museums. In exhibitions and accompanying programs the fundamentals of science and technology are conveyed to the visitors. People of all ages gain an insight into research processes as well as an access to scientific-technical topics and their impact on our live.

University of Applied Sciences Kiel, Center for Culture and Science Communication
The Center for Culture and Science Communication (ZKW) is a central institution of the University of Applied Sciences Kiel (FH Kiel). One focus of the interdisciplinary work of the center is on the communication of cultural and scientific contents through media. It supports teaching and research and assists all institutions of the FH Kiel in matters concerning the conception and development as well as the medial implementation of knowledge transfer. The Mediendom, the Sternwarte (observatory) and the Computermuseum are operated by the ZKW.

Research Center Borstel, Leibniz-Center for medicine and Biosciences
Thematically the Research Center Borstel concentrates on basic and patient-oriented research in the field of pulmonary and bronchial diseases. Foci are on the areas of infection, asthma and allergies as well as inflammatory diseases. The common goal of the interdisciplinary research is to constantly develop existing methods for detecting, preventing and treating pulmonary diseases and to develop new approaches.

The Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant Research (IPK), Grünes Labor Gatersleben
The Grüne Labor Gatersleben is the only student lab in Germany with an emphasis in the field of plant biotechnology. The aim of the extracurricular activity is to arouse children’s and teenager’s interest in nature and their environment. The practical work in the laboratory encourages them to identify rules and regularities behind different phenomena. This in turn stimulates a responsible use of nature.

Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien, Tübingen
Scientists at the Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM) investigate in which way digital media is influencing the acquisition and sharing of knowledge. Thereby research projects always consider the three perspectives theory, technology and subject matter. In its research the IWM is guided by internationally established criteria for scientific excellence.

Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, Lindau
Approximately thirty Nobel laureates as well as students doctoral candidates and postdocs are gathering in Lindau each year. The laureates and the young scientists get together in various events such as lectures, debates, master classes and panel discussion to promote the sharing of knowledge, ideas and experiences.

Mathematikum Gießen e.V.
The Mathematikum in Gießen is the world’s first mathematical hands-on museum. At more than 170 exhibits visitors of all ages and educational backgrounds experience mathematics in a playful way. They can, for example, rack their brains on geometric puzzles, discover the golden cut or produce an enormous soap bubble around themselves.

Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin
The Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin is one of the largest museums of natural history in Germany. Its activities cover three closely interlinked fields: collection-supported research, collection development and indexing, and research-based public relations and educational work. Thematically, the exhibitions range from the development of the solar system and the Earth to the mechanisms of evolution and the diversity of life.

National Institute for Science Communication, Karlsruhe
The National Institute for Science Communication (NaWik) teaches scientists, students and people working in public relations the basics of good science communication. In tried and tested educational and advanced training courses participants learn how to communicate science in a comprehensible way. All courses are held by experienced lecturers.

Technical University of Munich, TUM School of Education
The School of Education at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) is the first faculty for teacher training and educational research in Germany. It aims to raise the standard of teacher training at grammar schools and vocational schools to a new level. With the help of the School of Educatin, the training and further education of teachers in the commercial and technical fields as well as in the STEM subjects could be established as a uniform concept within the TUM.

Zoological Museum Kiel
The Zoological Museum Kiel is one of the oldest natural history museums in Germany, which in the 19th century developed into one of the most important zoological research institutes in Germany. Visitors of all ages can acquire knowledge through active experience at the museum. Fascinating exhibits encourage them to gain their own insights through close observation and to recognise connections.

Curry School of Education, University of Virginia, USA
The Curry School of Education offers 21 areas of study, 3 undergraduate majors, 4 research centers, 16 research labs, partnerships with a number of other schools at the University of Virginia, and a host of community programs. Its mission is to discover and advance knowledge, create innovative proven practices, and facilitate change across our community, the Commonwealth of Virginia, our nation, and the world.

LUMA Centre Finland, Helsinki
The aim of the LUMA Centre Finland is to inspire and motivate children and youth into mathematics, science and technology through the latest methods and activities of science and technology education. Another aim is to support the life-long learning of teachers working on levels of education from early childhood to universities, and strengthen the development of research-based teaching. The competence in LUMA subjects (i.e. mathematics, science and technology) at LUMA Centre is provided according to national strategy and plan of action validated by the board.

University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland
The University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) is one of the leading universities of applied sciences in Switzerland. A particular focus is on the interdisciplinary treatment of major social issues and challenges such as the transformation of energy systems or the consequences of digital change. The FHNW's nine institutions of higher education cover a broad spectrum of subject areas and enable diverse, interdisciplinary research.

University College London, Institute of Education (IOE)
UCL Institute of Education (IOE) is a world-leading centre for research and teaching in education and social science. Its research addresses society's most important challenges and its teaching inspires the students by providing them with first-hand experience of leading-edge research and knowledge creation. The institute plays an important global role, contributing to international academic and policy-related arenas and networks developing the fields of education and social science worldwide.

University of Helsinki, Faculty of Science, Department of Physics, Finland
University of Helsinki is the most versatile university in Finland and one of the best multidisciplinary research universities in the world. The high-quality research carried out by the university creates new knowledge for educating diverse specialists in various fields, and for utilization in social decision-making and the business sector. The University of Helsinki is an international academic community of 40,000 students and staff members. It operates on four campuses in Helsinki and at 17 other locations.

Visualization Center C, NorrKöping, Sweden
Visualization Center C is a research and science center in Norrköping (Sweden) conducting a unique mix of leading visualization research and public outreach activities. The center hosts a large-scale arena for public visits and events including media labs, interactive exhibitions and an immersive 3D fulldome theatre. The center is a result of a close collaboration between the Municipality of Norrköping, Linköping university, Norrköping Science Park and RISE Interactive C-Studio.

Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
The Weizmann Institute of Science in Rechovot (Israel) is one of the world's top multidisciplinary research institutes. In the Department of Science Didactics extensive research and development projects are located. The work here is based on an underlying philosophy that considers curriculum development and implementation, teacher training, research and evaluation coherently and long-term.

Partner des KiSOC

Neben dem IPN und der CAU stärken 18 weitere nationale und internationale Partnerinnen und Partner das Forschungsprofil des Campus:

Deutsches Museum von Meisterwerken der Naturwissenschaft und Technik, München
Mit 66.000 m² Ausstellungsfläche ist das Deutsche Museum eines der größten Wissenschafts- und Technikmuseen der Welt. In Ausstellungen sowie begleitenden Programmen werden den Besucherinnen und Besucher die Grundlagen von Naturwissenschaft und Technik vermittelt. Menschen aller Altersgruppen erhalten hier einen Einblick in Forschungsprozesse und einen Zugang zu naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Themen sowie deren Auswirkungen auf unser Leben.

Fachhochschule Kiel, Zentrum für Kultur- und Wissenschaftskommunikation
Das Zentrum für Kultur- und Wissenschaftskommunikation (ZKW) ist eine zentrale Einrichtung der Fachhochschule Kiel. Ein Schwerpunkt der interdisziplinären Arbeit des Zentrums liegt in der medialen Vermittlung kultureller und wissenschaftlicher Inhalte. Es unterstützt die Lehre und Forschung und steht allen Einrichtungen der FH bei Fragen der Konzeption und Entwicklung sowie der medialen Umsetzung von Wissenstransfer unterstützend zur Seite. Der Mediendom, die Sternwarte und das Computermuseum werden vom ZKW betrieben.

Forschungszentrum Borstel, Leibniz Lungenzentrum
Das Forschungszentrum Borstel (FZB) konzentriert sich thematisch auf die grundlagen- und patientenorientierte Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Lungen- und Bronchialerkrankungen. Schwerpunkte bilden die Bereiche Infektion, Asthma und Allergie sowie entzündliche Erkrankungen. Gemeinsames Ziel der interdisziplinären Forschungsarbeit ist es, bestehende Methoden zur Erkennung, Vermeidung und Behandlung von Lungenerkrankungen stets weiterzuentwickeln und neue Ansätze zu entwickeln.

Leibniz-Institut für Pflanzengenetik und Kulturpflanzenforschung, Grünes Labor Gatersleben
Das Grüne Labor Gatersleben ist das einzige Schülerlabor in Deutschland mit einem Schwerpunkt im Bereich Pflanzenbiotechnologie. Das außerschulische Angebot hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, das Interesse von Kindern und Jugendlichen für die Natur und ihre Umwelt zu wecken. Durch die praktische Tätigkeit im Labor werden sie ermutigt, die Regeln und Gesetzmäßigkeiten hinter verschiedenen Erscheinungen zu erkennen und so zu einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit der Natur angeregt.

Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien, Tübingen
Am Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM) untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, wie digitale Medien den Erwerb und den Austausch von Wissen beeinflussen. Die Forschungsprojekte berücksichtigen dabei stets die drei Perspektiven Theorie, Technologie und inhaltliche Thematik. In seiner Forschung orientiert sich das IWM an international etablierten Kriterien für wissenschaftliche Exzellenz.

Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, Lindau
Jedes Jahr kommen in Lindau rund 30 Nobelpreisträgerinnen und -preisträger mit Studierenden, Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden aus aller Welt zusammen. In verschiedenen Veranstaltungsformaten wie Vorträgen, Diskussionen, Master Classes und Podiumsdiskussionen wird so der Austausch von Wissen, Ideen und Erfahrungen zwischen den Laureaten und Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern gefördert.

Mathematikum Gießen e.V.
Das Mathematikum in Gießen ist das erste mathematische Mitmach-Museum der Welt. An über 170 Exponaten erfahren Besucherinnen und Besucher jeden Alters und unabhängig von ihrer Vorbildung auf spielerische Weise Mathematik. So können sie sich beispielsweise an geometrischen Puzzles den Kopf zerbrechen, an sich selbst den goldenen Schnitt entdecken oder eine Riesenseifenhaut um sich herum entstehen lassen.

Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin
Das Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin ist eines der größten Naturkundemuseum in Deutschland. Seine Tätigkeit erstreckt sich auf drei eng miteinander verzahnte Felder: die sammlungsgestützte Forschung, die Sammlungsentwicklung und -erschließung sowie die forschungsbasierte Öffentlichkeits- und Bildungsarbeit. Thematisch reichen die Ausstellungen von der Entwicklung des Sonnensystems und der Erde über die Mechanismen der Evolution bis zur Vielfalt des Lebens.

Nationales Institut für Wissenschaftskommunikation gGmbH, Karlsruhe
Das Nationale Institut für Wissenschaftskommunikation (NaWik) vermittelt Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, Studierenden sowie im Bereich der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit tätigen Frauen und Männern die Grundlagen guter Wissenschaftskommunikation. In praxiserprobten Aus- und Weiterbildungsformaten, die von erfahrenen Dozentinnen und Dozenten geleitet werden, lernen die Teilnehmenden, Wissenschaft verständlich zu kommunizieren.

Technische Universität München, TUM School of Education
Die School of Education an der Technischen Universität München ist die erste Fakultät für Lehrerbildung und Bildungsforschung in Deutschland. Ihr Anspruch ist es, die Ausbildung für das Lehramt an Gymnasien und beruflichen Schulen auf ein neues Qualitätsniveau zu heben. Mit Hilfe der School of Educatin konnte die Aus- und Fortbildung von Lehrkräften im gewerblich-technischen Bereich sowie in den MINT-Fächern innerhalb der TUM als einheitliches Konzept etabliert werden.

Zoologisches Museum Kiel
Das Zoologische Museum Kiel ist eines der ältesten Naturkundemuseen in Deutschland, das sich im 19. Jahrhundert zu einem der bundesweit bedeutendsten zoologischen Forschungsinstitute in Deutschland entwickelte hat. Besucherinnen und Besucher aller Altersklassen können sich im Zoologischen Museum durch aktives Erleben Wissen erarbeiten. Faszinierende Ausstellungsstücke regen dazu an, durch genaues Beobachten eigenständig Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen sowie Zusammenhänge zu erkennen.

Curry School of Education, Universität von Virginia, USA
An der Curry School of Education gibt es 21 Studienbereiche, vier Forschungszentren, 16 Forschungslabore sowie zahlreiche Partnerschaften mit anderen Fachbereichen der Universität von Virginia und außeruniversitären Einrichtungen. Die pädagogische Hochschule hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt Erkenntnisse zu entwickeln und voranzutreiben, neuartige Praktiken zu etablieren sowie regional, national und international Veränderungen in Gang zu setzen.

LUMA Center Finnland, Helsinki
Das Ziel des LUMA Center Finnland ist es, Kinder und Jugendliche mit modernsten Methoden und Aktivitäten aus dem Bereich der wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Erziehung für Mathematik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik zu motivieren. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt darauf, das lebenslange Lernen von Lehrkräften vom Elementar- bis zum Universitätsbereich zu unterstützen und die Entwicklung des forschungsbasierten Lernens zu stärken.

Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz
Die Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FHNW) gehört zu den führenden Fachhochschulen in der Schweiz. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der interdisziplinären Bearbeitung von grossen gesellschaftlichen Themen und Herausforderungen wie beispielsweise die Energiewende oder die Folgen des digitalen Wandels. Die insgesamt neun Hochschulen der FHNW decken ein weites Spektrum an Fachbereichen ab und ermöglichen eine vielfältige, interdisziplinäre Forschung.

University College London, Institut für Erziehungswissenschaften
Das Institut für Erziehungswissenschaften des University College London ist eines der weltweit führenden Zentren für Forschung und Lehre im Bereich Erziehungs- sowie Sozialwissenschaften. Die Forschung am Institut widmet sich den wichtigsten gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen und die Lehre ist geprägt von langjährigen Erfahrungen in der Spitzenforschung und Wissensbildung. Das Institut bringt sich zudem international auf wissenschaftlicher und politischer Ebene sowie in verschiedenen Netzwerken ein.

Universität Helsinki, Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät, Fachbereich Physik, Finnland
Die Universität Helsinki ist die vielseitigste Universität in Finnland und eine der besten multidisziplinären Forschungsuniversitäten der Welt. Ihre hochwertige Forschung schafft neue Erkenntnisse für die Ausbildung verschiedenster Fachleute in den unterschiedlichen Bereichen und findet gleichzeitig Anwendung in gesellschaftlichen Entscheidungsprozessen sowie im Unternehmensbereich. Verteilt auf vier Campus in Helsinki und 17 weitere Standorte ist die Universität eine international zusammengesetzte Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft mit 40.000 Angehörigen.

Visualiseringscenter C, NorrKöping, Schweden
Das Visualiseringscenter C in Norrköping (Schweden) ist ein Forschungs- und Wissenschaftszentrum, das eine einzigartige Kombination aus führender Visualisierungsforschung und Aktivitäten der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit bietet. Für öffentliche Veranstaltungen und Besuche betreibt das Zentrum einen großflächigen Bereich mit Medienlaboren, interaktiven Ausstellungen und einem 3-D Fulldome-Kino.

Weizmann-Institut für Wissenschaften, Israel
Das Weizmann Institut für Wissenschaften in Rechovot (Israel) gehört zu den hochrangigsten multidisziplinären Forschungsinstituten weltweit. In der Abteilung für Wissenschaftsdidaktik sind umfangreiche Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte angesiedelt. Die Arbeit hier basiert auf einer zugrunde liegende Philosophie, die Lehrplanentwicklung und -umsetzung, Lehrerweiterbildung, Forschung und Evaluierung zusammenhängend und langfristig betrachtet.